I Want To Make You Smile

“What is God trying to say to me through this tough situation? There is an answer here, and I mean to find it. I know that, with the help of God, I can handle this situation and turn it into happy results.” – Norman Vincent Peale (Reaching Your Potential p.14)

Being positive is not only smiling from ear to ear all of the time. Being positive requires a complete transformation and renewal of the mind. While I was reading Reaching Your Potential by Norman Vincent Peale, the Gospel radio station was playing this song called Smile by Jonathan Nelson featuring Purpose. The lyrics of the song held the answer to the question: What is God trying to say to me through this tough situation? Over and over the singer crooned the emotional sentence: “I want to make you smile.” A dual revelation presented itself. Not only do I want to make God smile, but God wants to make me smile.

smile 2

How do you know that God is smiling at you? What does God do in your life that makes you smile? I received the following responses:

God makes me smile when He answers my prayers in His perfect time. I needed a place to stay and just like that I was searching online and found the perfect house. The rent was a little high but the owner and I negotiated to an appropriate price. It was ready for me. I felt the tug of doubt all the way through but the voice of God told me that it was the right time and not to worry.

God makes me smile by giving me life and His angels to watch over me. When I think about the true meaning of grace and how wonderful the grace of God is, I smile.

God makes me smile when I look up in the beautiful sky and thank Him for giving me all of the things that I need.

smile 4

Now how do you make God smile? Some persons were reluctant to answer this question because they were unsure of how God looks like when He smiles. I believe that the blessings that God bestows on us are the evidence of Him smiling down at us. The Morning Prayer at the school where I teach, gives me the blueprint on the ways to make God smile. Allow me to share it with you.

Thank you God for bringing us to school today. Guard us this day. Help us to be attentive during lessons. To be respectful and obedient. To think clean thoughts, speak kind words and be kind to others. For Christ’s sake Amen.

This is how I make God smile: By being attentive to the life lessons that He is teaching me, respecting Him and obeying His Word. I do this through the cleanliness of my thoughts and the kindness that should exude from my speech and my actions. I try my utmost to make God smile.

smile

Have you made God smile today? Resolve in this New Year and for the rest of your life to be a source of happiness and joy. Just like the reflection of the face in water, so will your heart reflect who you are. I want to make You smile with my thoughts, words, actions, character and destiny.

smile 3

Leave a Reply

