Vote of Thanks

Psalm 124

A song of ascents. Of David.

1If the Lord had not been on our side—

let Israel say—

2if the Lord had not been on our side

when people attacked us,

3they would have swallowed us alive

when their anger flared against us;

4the flood would have engulfed us,

the torrent would have swept over us,

5the raging waters

would have swept us away.

6Praise be to the Lord,

who has not let us be torn by their teeth.

7We have escaped like a bird

from the fowler’s snare;

the snare has been broken,

and we have escaped.

8Our help is in the name of the Lord,

the Maker of heaven and earth.

Psalm 124 encapsulates the struggle that I experienced in 2014. On the 2nd of  January my car was wrecked. Two weeks later I gave birth to my second son. My birthday was the saddest day of my life as emotional and physical pain racked my body. I could not wait to return to work as a teacher after maternity leave. The summer really taught me life lessons as I dealt with my weaknesses, with the help of my Heavenly Counselor. At the end of the year, I have achieved peace that transcends all human understanding. Through daily bible devotions and prayer, the invaluable lesson encouraged me to fix my eyes on Jesus.

perfect peace

After making some life altering decisions, time became a wonderful healing balm. With each day, the process became easier and better. Every human relationship should exalt God. However in some cases God is edged out. Yet God is always there. God put those people together. Humans may try to separate from each other but there is an irreconcilable union which keeps them together.  At times life feels like floods and raging waters. It is fraught with emotional waves of disaster, anger, fear, resentment and bitterness. With God, these emotions are dealt with in a more positive way. Stifling emotions is an option but it resurfaces over time. Yet there are other uplifting outlets to deal with emotions.

emotions

Writing is at the top of the list of my outlets. This year has taught me how to deal with anger, bitterness and embarrassment. This year has left with me pearls of wisdom. This year has taught me that the decision making process should not be rushed. When you choose God, God chooses you. At the end of this year, I thank God for his promises. He is always with me and He will never leave me. I am not to blame for everything and if the blame is truly at me, I can rest in God’s love, mercy, forgiveness and grace. God’s truths stand firm for all time. The snares and plots have been thwarted. I have been set free, through Jesus Christ. Who better to depend on but the One who created the heavens and the earth as mentioned in the last verse of Psalm 124.

In thanksgiving to God, I name God’s blessings of 2014 and return them to the sender as a love gift of worship tomorrow evening, as I ring in the New Year at church. 2014 has been a performance with its highs and lows. Overall, God has done a magnificent task in bringing us safely to the end of this year. As His children we look forward to His continued blessings and guidance for 2015. We continue to be utterly dedicated to Him on our intended journey in life.

God at centre

Leave a Reply

