Faithful and True

Happy Independence Barbados! The blog is going all patriotic to God and nation. I will start off by addressing the importance of the second verse of our National anthem and then recount a comical but true experience. Enjoy the ride!

The second verse of our National Anthem is hardly sung. The traditional instrumental only covers the first verse and chorus in the interest of time.  It is unfortunate because the second verse focuses on God being at the centre of the nation. Without Him we can not move forward. These are the lyrics to the second verse of the Barbados National Anthem:

The Lord has been the people’s guide
For past three hundred years
With him still on the people’s side
We have no doubts or fears
Upward and onward we shall go
Inspired, exulting, free
And greater will our nation grow
In strength and unity

Lyrics by: Irving Burgie

God is at the centre. He is our guide. With Him leading us as a nation, we are fearless, neither do we doubt our future. For as a God fearing nation, we will move on with His help. We will always be inspired, exalted and free. We will become a greater, stronger and unified nation. Why? The reason is simple. God is at the centre of it all.

Still on the view of God being at the centre, let me recount to you the reason why I am eating a conkie this morning for breakfast. Yesterday despite having no conkies in my possession, I believed that I would sit and relax with one later on in the day. I am always reminded in the ways that God works for those who love Him.

After my eye examination, I got the car cleaned. The optician and the supermarket are on the same compound so I did some family shopping. An integral part of our Barbadian culture is to shop like it is the end of days when there is a long weekend. I wanted to get done before the anticipated rush. While having a conversation with the young man who bagged the groceries, I heard someone call my name. In the middle of the car park were the members from my father’s previous church.

After acknowledging them with smiles and waves I promised to come back to their cake sale. I gave the gentleman who washes my car his money due. He does a marvelous job. His car looks better than mine. The change he gave me I gave to the young gentleman who brought my groceries to the car. He complimented me and I said thank you, bowed my head and told the gentleman who washed my car to have a Happy Independence and eat some conkies.

I sauntered over to the cake sale. After giving the congregation members a donation they insisted that I take something. I mentioned something about watching my figure, but after I saw their downcast faces I asked for some fishcakes for my elder son and a conkie for my younger son. I had no intention of eating the conkie, for there is usually a lady who traditionally makes my conkies every year. I remain faithful and true and eat only her conkies at Independence.

I left the cake sale and slipped the conkie into the back seat of the car of the gentleman who washed my car and drove off. On my way home from the hairdresser, my mother called and asked me to pick up the conkies from the lady. She didn’t have to tell me twice. I drove as fast as the speed limit would allow me and made it to the lady in five minutes. After thanking this lady profusely, I went by my mother’s house to share in conkie glory. I had not one but two conkies and they tasted divine.

Both stories though serious yet comical have a common thread. God doesn’t need our help. All we have to do as a country and as children of God is to stay in His love and have faith. I remain faithful and true. My hope is that you remain faithful and true as well.

symbols

Leave a Reply

