(I) dentity

One of the easiest letters to write is the letter “I”: one vertical stroke from top to bottom and that’s it. There is no fuss, no fancy acrobatics, just pure simplicity. This topic about self was like a recurring dream. First during my devotions the lesson from St. Mark chapter 8 verses 27 to 29, where Jesus asks his disciples after a long prayer session: “Who do people say that I am?” The disciples gave some answers to this probing question: “Some say Elijah or John the Baptist or another prophet.” Jesus asked them: Who do you say I am?” Peter quips in: “You are the Christ!”

The second incident came when my students were examining the topic of personal self. They looked at it from the physical and the emotional self. The physical self was the easy part. All that was needed was a reflected image. However the emotional self, was a little more difficult to ascertain. Some adults are still evaluating their emotional selves, so it might be improbable to think that most teenagers will understand their emotional self while they are still dealing with physical changes.

The question remains: Who am I?

Physically, I am a 5 foot 4 inches tall female specimen of the human race. My complexion is chocolate brown to match the colour of my small almond shaped eyes. Emotionally, I am very sentimental as I attach value to things which were given to me by persons whom I hold near to my heart. I wear comfortable clothing and love to advocate charitable causes. I work well by myself in quiet areas and am known to enjoy a few good books.  I love peace so I am not likely to start arguments, unless if it is for a cause in which I believe.

Spiritually, I am a child of God. I adore the things which are right in the sight of God and I abhor all manner of evil and wickedness in any form. Peace and safety surround me because God protects His children from their enemies. I am a steward of God’s Word and sacraments.

Another question remains: Do you know who you are?

If you don’t know as yet, maybe you should spend some time in quiet reflection and afterwards ask: “Who do people say that I am?” Then ask God: “What is my purpose in life?” In that you may find out just exactly who you are.

I know who I am and whose I am: from top to bottom, pure simplicity.

2 thoughts on “(I) dentity

Leave a Reply

